Garden Reverie

A Window in Winter

My kitchen window this winter.

My kitchen window this winter.

This is what’s going on in my kitchen window this winter.  In the cold months, it becomes a repository for a few of the plants that I cannot bear to leave outside to die.

DSC_0509 - Version 2

Like my maidenhair ferns which I adore and are just too tender to turn my back on.  I kind of gave up on houseplants a few years back; I do not have a lot of space for them inside.  But I bring these and a wonderful bird’s nest fern inside if they are still looking good at the end of the season.  The  kitchen window faces due North and the maidenhairs do well there as long as they get plenty of water.DSC_0500 - Version 2This is a hypertufa pot that my fellow garden club members made at a workshop last fall.  It is planted with sedums and a little rosemary plant.DSC_0501 - Version 2

Here is Mr. Clancy, my little Irish gnome.  He doesn’t care for the cold either so I bring him in.  He makes me smile whenever I look at him.DSC_0506 - Version 2

This sweet mini African violet was a Christmas gift from my friend, Kathy.

DSC_0508 - Version 2Foxy-Loxey happily watches everything going on in the kitchen with his beady little eyes.DSC_0513 - Version 2

And finally this is another of my favorite things, an English robin.  She came to me from an estate sale years ago and is rarely missing from the seasonal tableau in the window.  She watches over her little nest and egg faithfully.  Perhaps she knows it will never hatch but she never gives up hope.  And that’s one of the things I like about her best.

What’s in your kitchen window this winter?

This entry was published on February 2, 2013 at 7:28 PM. It’s filed under garden, Glittermoon, photography and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

Leave a Reply

