Garden Reverie

A Hidden Treasure

 Rest is not idleness, and to lie sometimes on the grass on a summer day listening to the murmur of water, or watching the clouds float across the sky, is hardly a waste of time.    – John Lubbock

Sparky This is Sparky.  Don’t ask me why I named him that, it just popped into my head.  When I first got him, I tried “Roy” ( as in Rogers, who rode Trigger and was married to Dale Evans) but that didn’t stick so Sparky it became.

I once knew a Sparky though that was not his real name, of course.  When I was in the photography biz, I had a long-time commercial customer who worked for the power company.  We were about the same age; in fact, we each got married at around the same time and shared many pre-and post-wedding stories.  Anyway, genial fellow that he was, at some point the guys up front in the shop started calling him Sparky and it took.  But I digress…

Anyway, poor Sparky has pretty much been hidden all summer behind the hydrangeas and hostas.  You could hear him gently splashing away but you couldn’t see him.  I must really be getting lazy in my dotage because I let the poor fellow go on sight unseen.  Every now and again I would say to myself, “You have got to trim that stuff back so you can see Sparky.” And another week would go by.

This evening I went out to have my regular sit-down in Vinnie’s garden with my Diet Coke and as I walked past him I suddenly could stand it no more.  So out came the Felcos and a few judicious snips later, there he was.  Nice to see you again, Sparky, my old friend.  You are music to my ears and a sight for sore eyes.  I promise not to forget you again.

I leave you with a little snippet of Sparky in action.  There are few lovelier sounds than water in the garden.  Wouldn’t you agree?

This entry was published on August 9, 2013 at 8:27 PM. It’s filed under garden, gardening, Glittermoon, photography and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

2 thoughts on “A Hidden Treasure

  1. Delightful Cackie! Thanks for sharing this and I’m so glad I found your blog!

    Like

Leave a Reply

