Garden Reverie

I Actually Like Winter

Lots of people complain about the winter.  I suppose that I used to be one of them (though if I lived in Minnesota or Maine, I might still be).  But as I have gotten older, the gifts that winter bring become more apparent to me.  I crave the chance to turn inward for a while, to rest up from the hustle and bustle of the rest of the year, and to plan for the coming spring.  But don’t let it get here too quickly – I will not be ready.  I still have to clean out my closets.

DSCN0112 - Version 2

“The simplicity of winter has a deep moral. The return of Nature, after such a career of splendor and prodigality, to habits so simple and austere, is not lost either upon the head or the heart. It is the philosopher coming back from the banquet and the wine to a cup of water and a crust of bread.”

~John Burroughs, “The Snow-Walkers,” 1866

This entry was published on January 18, 2014 at 12:13 PM. It’s filed under garden, gardening, Glittermoon, photography, Richmond, Virginia and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Follow any comments here with the RSS feed for this post.

3 thoughts on “I Actually Like Winter

  1. me too, i love the cold..but then again i grew up in humid, hot as heck miami, fl so glad to be out of the state and in a cooler region

    Like

    • Thanks for visitng me this winter! And while I cant say that I looooove the cold (it’s ok), I do love the chance to hole up and get something done inside. Hope you’ll come back to visit. Cackie

      Like

  2. Pingback: Weekly Photo Challenge: Juxtaposition | Glittermoon Vintage Christmas

Leave a Reply

